Falling into words

“Όταν ήμουν μικρό παιδί, κιντύνεψα να πέσω στο πηγάδι* όταν μεγάλωσα, κιντύνεψα να πέσω στη λέξη “αιωνιότητα” και σε καμπόσες άλλες λέξεις ακόμα: “έρωτας”, “ελπίδα”, “πατρίδα”, “Θεός”. Κάθε χρόνο μου φαίνονταν πως γλύτωνα, και προχωρούσα. Δεν προχωρούσα* άλλαζα μονάχα λέξη, κι αυτό το έλεγα λυτρωμό. Και τώρα τελευταία, δύο αλάκερα χρόνια, κρέμουμαι απάνω από τη λέξη: “Βούδας”. Μα ετούτο είναι το στερνό πηγάδι, η στερνή λέξη, και θα γλυτώσω πια για πάντα. Για πάντα; Έτσι ακατάπαυτα λέμε.”

“When I was but a young boy, I almost fell inside the well* when I grew up, I almost fell into the word “eternity” and in a few other words as well: “love”, ” hope”, “country”, ” God”. Every year it seemed as though I escaped them, and was moving on. But I was not moving on* I was simply switching words, and was calling that redemption. Lately, for two whole years, I have been hanging on the word: “Buddha”. But this is the last well, the last word, and I will finally be forever redeemed. Forever? That’s what we always say.”

Leave a Reply

