live for the moment (*English translation follows)

“…έπαψα να θυμούμαι τα χτεσινά, έπαχα να ζητώ τα αυριανά* τι γίνεται τώρα, ετούτη τη στιγμή, αυτό με νοιάζει. Λέω “Τί κάνεις τώρα; – Κοιμούμαι. – Κοιμήσου, λοιπόν, καλά! – Τί κάνεις τώρα; – Δουλεύω. – Δούλευε λοιπόν καλά! – Τί κάνεις τώρα; – Αγκαλιάζω μια γυναίκα. – Αγκάλιαζε τη λοιπόν, καλά, ξέχασε τα όλα, τίποτε άλλο δεν υπάρχει στον κόσμο, μονάχα αυτή και σύ, βίρα!”

“…I have stopped remembering what happened yesterday, I have stopped looking for tomorrow* all I care is what is happening now, this moment. ‘What are you doing now?’, I say to myself – I am sleeping – Then sleep well! – ‘What are you doing now?’ – I am working. – Then work hard! – ‘What are you doing now?’ – I am hugging a woman. – Then hug her tight, forget about everything, nothing else exists in the world, just her and you…heave!”

Leave a Reply

